Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 3/19/2013 2:16:27 PM EDT
I am new to firearms and the AR platform and I was wondering what you guys think about these two rifles.

Back in December when all of this ban non-sence started, I was looking for a Stag Model 8 and could not find one.

There was only one gun shop that had them in stock, and they were going for almost 2,500 bucks. Besides that shop, there was one other shop that only had one AR left, which was a S&W M&P 15 Optics Ready (NY compliant model, no flash hider), and out of impulse and not knowing what was going to happen with all of this gun control crap, I settled for the M&P 15. Oh, and it was marked up to $1,300... 1.400 after tax

After being sort of content that I got my rifle, last week I walked into a local shop looking for a Sig handgun, and in conversation the owner told me that they were expecting a shipment of Stag Model 8's in any minute. I was excited and sick at the same time. Sick because the price was identical to what I payed for the M&P, but excited because this guy wasn't being a thief and marking up his prices (he actually said Stag raised the price on him slightly, and he still wanted to be fair). I couldn't pass it up, so I bought the Model 8.

With that said, I only planned on getting one AR, because after waiting 13 weeks for my Pistol Permit... I am itching to get my first handgun... (Sig P226 Enhanced Elite) Now that I learned my lesson with settling, I wont settle for anything less than the Sig I've had my heart set on.. I can see how ARs are hard to come buy with this buying frenzy, but the Sig P226 is just as hard to get right now and sold out everywhere.