Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 12/16/2005 7:39:41 AM EDT
Hi All, noob here

I got bit by the AR bug a few weeks ago and finally threw down and ordered a new one on Wednesday. I had my FFL dealer order me a DPMS AP4 Panther Carbine, with a chrome lined barrel.

The bad part is DPMS said there's a 5 week wait while they build my gun.

I've already ordered a book off of amazon on the AR and that should be here next week so I'll be able to read up on the workings and breakdown procedures. Plus I'm getting a gun safe so I'll have the joy of installing that after Christmas.

Any suggestions on what else I can do while I wait for my gun to arrive?
Link Posted: 12/16/2005 7:48:28 AM EDT
[#1]
Download the military operator manual, print up a copy, and read it over and over.  Some of the things might be a little hard to visualize without the weapon in front of you, but it will make it much easier in the long run.

Congrats, and enjoy your 5 weeks of waiting....
Link Posted: 12/16/2005 7:51:39 AM EDT
[#2]
1) Read every topic on this forum!
2) Visit all the industry websites to find out where you are going to buying your add-ons and toys.
3) Did I mention read every topic on this forum?
4) Start collecting your ammo and mags.  You have to have those anyway so you can go shoot.  Anything else is incidental to being able to shoot when you receive your AR.
5) Did I mention read every topic on this forum?
6) Figure out what sight(s) you want and plan ahead.  You'll find that the two most common sights here are the EOTech and the Aimpoint.  Advantages to both, go out and handle them. Get familiar.  Read up on the others and check those out, also.
7) Did I mention read every topic on this forum?
8) Find a place to shoot.  Some may limit FMJ or have certain restrictions that may limit your shooting.
9) See Note 1 above.

Link Posted: 12/16/2005 7:54:09 AM EDT
[#3]

Quoted: