Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 8/25/2004 7:51:21 AM EDT
Clarificatinon - I'm a newbie to these forums and to suppressors, not to AR's.

Situation: I'm a law enforcement officer in rural Arkansas, and carry a personally-owned CAR-15 both on-duty and off. I recently bought (personal purchase) an Advanced Armament 'M4-2000' suppressor for it, which I like a lot; and rarely shoot the gun without now.

My concern is the increased backpressure that comes with suppressors, which definitely makes the gun dirtier faster, and probably speeds up cycle time, which (I assume) increases wear on the gun.

I've considered a cyclic rate reducer, but was told by Advanced Armament (who sells them) that other than recoil reduction, there's no benefit in semi-auto fire. I've read that a rate reducer helps with reliability in cold weather; but don't know if that's true or not. Where I live, we don't get arctic cold, and the gun's VERY reliable as is.

Also, I do often shoot the gun with a .22 conversion unit, which of course makes it even dirtier.

Basically, I'm looking for opinions or pointers on two things:

1 - How beneficial a rate reducer would be on a CAR-length semi-auto gun with a suppressor attached. If it is likely to decrease wear, or enhance reliability, I'm all for it; if not, there may not be any reason for it.

2 - ANY other lessons others have learned regarding suppressed use of AR's or CAR's; I'd appreciate any pointers, to avoid making the same mistakes.

Thanks - John
Link Posted: 8/25/2004 7:53:55 AM EDT
[#1]
Get an H buffer and a Wolff Extra-power buffer spring.  I have much the same setup as you do, and the combination of heavier buffer and heavier spring slows it down some and definitely makes cycling more positive.

Get a Gasbuster charging handle, if you don't already have one...it really reduces the eye-watering fun of shooting a suppressed AR.