Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 12/20/2005 2:50:33 PM EDT
Hi
Just a dumb newbie question- What is a good rock-solid scope mount for a A2 upper. I have a Bushmaster with a A2 carry handle and would like to mount a nice scope that would be solid for some distant shots; I thought about swapping out to a flat-top but that's $$. Any suggestions appreciated.  
Link Posted: 12/20/2005 3:15:21 PM EDT
[#1]
Here is one option that worked well for me:  www.armsmounts.com/catalog.php?action=124&item_id=74
Link Posted: 12/20/2005 3:57:00 PM EDT
[#2]
You can get a brand new CMT flat-top upper for less then $100. Thats not a lot more then some good mounts for your A2 upper.

If you must use the A2 upper then the ARMS mount is a good way to go.
Link Posted: 12/20/2005 5:21:15 PM EDT
[#3]
Link Posted: 12/21/2005 4:52:34 AM EDT
[#4]
Word of Caution!

Out of the 2 mounts pictured above, I would personally try to find one that is built to Picatinny Specs (like the one posted by Henry455) versus Weaver / Stanag specs (like the one posted by CSGunWorks). Specifically you want the rail to have the low mounting groves along the complete surface like you will find with the Picatinny, not spaced far apart like you will find with the Weaver / Stanag.

I say this because the first mount I bought was one of the Weaver / Stanag types, and when I went to mount a set of rings I could not get the spacing to work out correctly. The low mounting grooves were either to close together or to far apart. I bought a mount with the Picatinny rail and then had no problems working out the spacing the way I needed it.

I would also recommend that you make sure that the mount has the “see through channel” so you can still use your iron sights. Some of the mounts are solid one piece construction and they will block the sight path of your iron sights.