Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 3/11/2006 12:13:23 PM EDT
Ok-those of you that hate old topics, clear out now. I've been away from the AR side of the board for awhile and I'm guessing this has been beat half to death in the last few months.

I've been saving for almost a year for an M4 clone, RRA most likely. I think it's a versatile and useful rifle, not to mention it is just sexy. I don't have an AR type rifle for my collection, and I know I need at least one varient. I have AKs and FALs, and the AR will fit in there nicely.

Problem is that now all these other rifles are coming out which sound like possible alternatives: the FN P2000, the Sig 556 (which I will not buy unless I can make it look more like a 551) and most importantly the SCAR, though that may awhile. Now I know you guys will say I should get them all, but I'm a college student and that just won't happen. I will likely be able to afford one this year, MAYBE another a year from now. And that is a big maybe.

So I need to decide which one to drop the cash on. I think I can ignore the P2000, and probably the Sig 556. The SCAR really screws with me though. I really get this feeling that it will do things the M4 can't, and may end up being a slightly better weapon. If I drop the money on the M4, the SCAR will be out of the question for some time. And I really hate to wait another year for a new rifle, especially with the nice weather coming.

Let me know what you guys think, and I apologize to the OT nazis that this will offend. At least I didn't bring up whether 5.56 is better than 5.45, or whether Colt is better than Bushie. I even left 1/9 vs. 1/7 twist out So thanks to those that decide to humor me.
Link Posted: 3/11/2006 12:15:50 PM EDT
get 'em all?
Link Posted: 3/11/2006 12:18:57 PM EDT
get the M4 now, and the SCAR later