Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
10/20/2017 1:01:18 AM
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 9/21/2005 6:23:48 PM EDT
I recently purchased a Bushy V match carbine and I am going to replace the forearm with a YHM free floater that I ordered from Bravo Company. The Bushy fired several hundred rounds of different ammo without any problems, but that aluminum v match foremarm got real, hot real fast. It looks to me like the v match forarm is threaded onto the barrell nut. I am going to try to unscrew the forarm with a strap wrench, and I am hoping that the YHM forearm has the same threads as the Bushy barrell nut. I am very mechanically savy as I am a high pressure welder and a mechanic in a powerhouse, so I am confident that I can do this, but if anyone has removed a v match forearm before any tips would be appreciated.
Link Posted: 9/21/2005 6:54:09 PM EDT
I've never personally handled a Bushmaster V-Match forend, but I'm pretty sure that it is one piece, with the barrel nut being part of the tube. After pulling the gas tube, just unscrew the whole thing with a strap wrench. A new YHM should come with its own replacement barrel nut.
Link Posted: 9/22/2005 3:41:52 PM EDT
Bushmaster uses YHM parts and labels them as their BMAS parts. I would not be suprised if the barrel nut from the Bushy FF is the same thread pitch for the new YHM Setup.
Link Posted: 9/22/2005 4:51:08 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 9/22/2005 4:53:21 PM EDT by Azrael2004]
The V-Match forearm is integral with the barrel nut.

I removed mine recently to install a lightweight YHM for the same reason. The damn V-Match tube gets HOT.

You willl have to remove the V-Match gas block.
After attempts with the blue tip wrench, and the 16oz dead blow hammer, I had to grind the original gas block down into the pins to where they could just lift out.
They still required beating even with no metal around 50% of the pin! (Yes, I was beting them out from the small end)