Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
Posted: 9/26/2004 3:38:06 PM EST

Well, I have a Bushmaster M4A3 on the way right now, so after that I am looking at getting a longer range weapon for shooting in the prone. I am not an accomplished long range shooter right now, but I have a long range operators' course coming up soon, I hope. Anyway, purely because of personal preference, I want a 20" A4 in 5.56mm, as 'bone stock' as possible. I will add a good optic,Harris bipod, and possibly one of those new drop in two-stage triggers, but that will be about it.

So, I need to know which stock A2 offers the best accuracy out of the box. Also, recommendations on quality glass would certainly be appreciated. I have a 600 yard range available nearby, and I hope to get MOA out to 500 yards or so. Thanks for any advice.

Link Posted: 9/26/2004 4:17:01 PM EST
I would like to hear of your accuracy results as well.
Link Posted: 9/26/2004 4:21:42 PM EST
I have a standard 1/9 twist Bushmaster A3 20" rifle.

It is very accurate up to 200 yds(Never tried beyond that yet)

It shoots under 1 MOA at 100 from a benchrest.
Link Posted: 9/26/2004 4:22:40 PM EST

Originally Posted By Timanator:
I have a standard 1/9 twist Bushmaster A3 20" rifle.

It is very accurate up to 200 yds(Never tried beyond that yet)

It shoots under 1 MOA at 100 from a benchrest.

Can I ask how much that set you back? What optics are you using? Thanks.

Link Posted: 9/26/2004 4:28:58 PM EST
[Last Edit: 9/26/2004 4:30:55 PM EST by 223-4me]
this is my results with my stock 20" Bushy with 9x scope shooting 77grain moly(most accurate)
ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=3&f=16&t=201197
Link Posted: 9/26/2004 5:08:21 PM EST