Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Ammunition
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 1/1/2004 11:11:52 PM EDT
I'm new to reloading .223 cartridges and I'm looking for a cheap plinking bullet.  I saw this Winchester bullet at Midway.com which they sell for $33.00 a thousand.

http://www.midwayusa.com/rewriteaproduct/221585

Does anyone know if this is the same bullet Winchester use in their Q3131 or Q3131A?  Just wondering if this bullet would fragment if loaded with M193 loads.

Also is it safe to use commercial brass with M193 loads?  Somebody have told me that commercial brass has a thinner wall than military brass.

Any info would be appreciated. Thanks.
Link Posted: 1/1/2004 11:18:09 PM EDT
[#1]

[url]http://www.midwayusa.com/rewriteaproduct/221585[/url]

[img]http://www.midwayusa.com/midwayusa/applications/mediasvr.dll/image?saleitemid=221585[/img]
Link Posted: 1/1/2004 11:19:15 PM EDT
[#2]
All I can say is it looks like the Q3131A bullet.

Hell, if the price is right and your going to use it for plinking I say go for it!
Link Posted: 1/2/2004 10:23:29 AM EDT
[#3]
Thanks for the picture and link M4_Aiming_at_U.  That makes it a lot easier to describe the bullet I'm talking about.  The price is surely right for me but I was just wondering if I could use this for SHTF ammo too.  I have about 1,000 of XM193 for SHTF but I was planning to get more.  Hoping to save some money by making my own.
Link Posted: 1/3/2004 1:18:50 AM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:
Thanks for the picture and link M4_Aiming_at_U.  That makes it a lot easier to describe the bullet I'm talking about.  The price is surely right for me but I was just wondering if I could use this for SHTF ammo too.  I have about 1,000 of XM193 for SHTF but I was planning to get more.  Hoping to save some money by making my own.
View Quote