Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 4/2/2006 7:57:44 AM EDT
How is the quality of their small parts? I'm talking about their pins,springs bolts,extractors,hammers,ect. Sorry if this has been beat to death here. Nick
Link Posted: 4/2/2006 9:23:00 AM EDT
[#1]
i had one LPK that had either a soft pin or safety selector.  the mating of the two failed within a few rounds and the safety was hard to actuate.  other than that i have no poor experiences with DPMS parts.

after looking at several different parts from brownells, i really see some quality in the colt pieces as well as the bushmaster.

in the future, i like i'll buy more bushmaster parts, as they seem to combine quality with affordability.  

HTH.

septic tank
Link Posted: 4/2/2006 9:35:31 AM EDT
[#2]
I ahve never had any issues with the parts from DPMS, I've had 4 Different configurations and never seen any problems. I have a Competition M4 Style rifle that has over 4K rounds and never a parts failure.

I also sell thier equipment and find it as good a quality as anyone elses.

Link Posted: 4/2/2006 1:00:57 PM EDT
[#3]
I had a couple rear takedown pins that were too big to fit into the lowers.  Other than that, their parts have been great IMO.
Link Posted: 4/2/2006 5:38:34 PM EDT
[#4]
I bought their small parts kit and the firing pin retaining pin would not fit my Bushmaster bolt carrier.  There are so many really good brands, Colt, Bushy, RRA, CMT, Stag, etc., that have have written DPMS off.
Link Posted: 4/2/2006 5:45:33 PM EDT
[#5]
I have also heard of Bushmaster uppers not fitting RRA lowers so which company is to blame for that one? Parts are supposed to be interchangeable but not always. I have built quite a few rifles and used a lot of DPMS parts inside them and have never run into any issues that would make me stop using them.
Link Posted: 4/3/2006 5:48:18 AM EDT
[#6]