Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 5/19/2003 12:20:34 AM EDT
I'm in the market for a rifle and pretty set on an AR. I'm about 90% sure i'll be getting a bushmaster flattop.. But am pondering the 308 v 223 option of ar15 v ar10.

1.Anyone have any input on my caliber question? pro's cons?

I'm hoping to keep myself from buying my new toy for another week but really looking forward to learning how to shoot a rifle.. I'm a total rifle newb..

Next question: Where is a good place someone could go out and shoot outside without a lot of ppl around to see how bad a shot i will start out being. ps I'm in dallas, Tx.

thanks in advance and a thousand apologies for all the stupid questions i'm about to be asking.
Link Posted: 5/19/2003 2:56:46 AM EDT
[#1]
An AR in 5.56 will run about $950.00, An AR10 in .308 starts about $1500.00.
Good quality ammo for 5.56 is cheaper than .308.
I don't know your shooting habits, but in general the AR15 is a good, light recoil, accurate weapon to begin with.
If you get an AR15, get one chambered in the 5.56, rather than .223.
.223 can be shot out of a 5.56 barrel, but not the other way around.
As for where and who to shoot with, go to the Hometown link in the upper right of the screen and check out the post for TX.
BTW: Welcome to the addiction Redjack!
Link Posted: 5/19/2003 3:09:55 AM EDT
[#2]
Being a nebie myself and having just pondered this very same question, I shall attempt to answer it with the precept that the word of much more experienced individuals should probably be heeded to.

I came up with a list of criteria between the two calibers when I made my purchase and then rated both the .223 and .308 based on that criteria:

1) Ease of shooting - .223