Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 9/20/2003 6:44:55 PM EDT
Okay, you're not allowed to own an AR-15 and M-16 full-auto or burst parts.  That would be breaking NFA rules or something, right?

If you owned a post-ban AR clone, and pre-ban parts (to swap between the '94 ban sunset and next AWB), would that be illegal?
Link Posted: 9/21/2003 5:59:31 AM EDT
[#1]
You can't have M-16 selective parts because they are considered as a machine gun or machine gun parts which are not allowed unless you have appropriate documents.

IMHO, "pre-ban" is refering to the whole configuration of your rifle. A telescope stock, a FH, or a threaded barrel, as long as they are not assembled as a gun, the parts alone are not considered as a gun. I am not a lawyer. The best bet is to consult your local lawyer.
Link Posted: 9/21/2003 10:11:57 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 9/21/2003 11:08:55 AM EDT
[#3]
And following this logic, you should not own a preban rifle if you also own a post ban rifle or lower.  Because in seconds, with no tools, you can swap the preban upper to the post ban lower and "manufacture" an illegal assualt weapon.  Constructive intent to violate the law.

And if this is the case, you should be prohibited from owning any guns because in less than a second, with no tools required, you can kill another human being, after all that is what the assualt weapons were designed for.  So the very posession of a gun is constructive intent to commit murder

That said, I do not trust the BATFE to do anything logical or by any written law.....
Link Posted: 9/21/2003 12:55:16 PM EDT
[#4]
Link Posted: 9/21/2003 1:36:20 PM EDT
[#5]
Actually the ATF wont let you own one fully functioning M16 and one fully functioning AR15 and a full set of M16 spare parts becasue those spare parts are constructive intent to convert the AR15 to an M16.  This is 100% the ATF's call.  Youd win in court but you would not beat the ride.