Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 4/23/2013 8:45:00 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 4/23/2013 8:45:53 PM EDT by headmonkey]
I've had a minor setback on some lower builds. Admittedly, I'm a noob, and I dont have the magic touch
apparently required to get the bolt catch pin in.

I read the howto, I saw the punch / hammer method and the pliers method. I tried both, and stopped when
the pin deformed and it looked as if I was going to ruin the bosses. Luckily, I didn't.

The LPKs I'm using are DPMS and they come with the C style pins, which according to wikipedia are called
"slotted spring pins." Very soft material, as they are obviously supposed to deform somewhat, but they suck,
or at least, they suck just enough to not make up for the fact that I suck.

I looked at all the special punches available from Brownells and the like, but didn't think I'd fair any better
with the pins that I have, so does anyone know know where to get the good coiled style pins ?

Coiled Style Pins <-- wikipedia diagram for reference.

Link Posted: 4/23/2013 8:58:01 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 4/23/2013 9:01:01 PM EDT by AR-4C]
The Citizens Armory. http://www.thecitizensarmory.com/Lower_c_13-2-0.html

Place a shop towel over the receiver, and insert the roll pin from the rear of the receiver. Use a jewelers hammer and the correct size punch (can't remember off the top of my head) Hold the pin with some tweezers, or small needle nose pliers, and gently tap the pin into open ear. Also, oiling the pin will help with the install, to lessen the friction of metal on metal. After the pin is started, but not blocking the opening between the ears. Insert all the necessary parts, then gently tap the roll pin through the bolt catch. Keep an eye on the hole in the bolt catch to make sure it's lining up with the roll pin. BTW: the brass side of the jewelers hammers works better.
Link Posted: 4/23/2013 9:05:33 PM EDT
Originally Posted By AR-4C: