Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Basics
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/21/2016 2:18:09 PM EDT
I'm new to AR's and, like many, I enjoy shopping or window shopping on the PSA site. Unless I just can't find it, there is no information, other than price and semi-technical stuff on their products.

That leaves a big deficit for people like me. For instance:

1. I assume that Defender, Premium, PTAC and Freedom are separate and distinct product lines. If that's the case, what are the differences among them?

2. There are a lot of acronyms that mean nothing to me, e.g. EPT, LKP, ACS-L, QSM, CHF and HPT/MPI. Maybe they're normal industry terms that I don't know, but I can't decipher them.

It seems like there ought to be a place on the PSA site that covers this kind of stuff. If so, would someone please point me to it? If not, where do I go to find the answers?

Thanks, your input is always helpful.

Mike
Link Posted: 10/21/2016 2:42:29 PM EDT
[#1]
View Quote
Well read here and you will figure most of that out.

ASC-L is the stock model made by Magpul
CHF is Cold Hammer Forged, it's how the barrel was made
HPT/MPI means the bolt was magnetic partical inspectected
QSM, EPT are going to be the type of trigger

PTAC is cheapest line, and lowest quality
Premium is going to be the most expensive, best quality typically have FN barrels etc.
Freedom and Defender are in the middle typically have cheaper barrels, but are usually coated in melonite unlike the PTAC stuff that is phosphate. Some of the freedom stuff have SS barrels. Thats just going to require more reading here to decide what you want.

Most beginners buy a complete rifle,  learn and then go to site like PSA and build their own
Link Posted: 10/21/2016 2:57:40 PM EDT
[#2]
The PTAC upper I just ordered has a nitrided barrel.  A million and one choices @ PSA.
Any question, post here, quickest for definite answers.
INDUSTRY FORUM