Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Posted: 12/18/2002 9:18:37 AM EST
[Last Edit: 12/18/2002 9:30:45 AM EST by Cerebus]
Maybe some fellow Marylanders can help answer this. The law states:

A person may not manufacture, sell, offer for sale, purchase, receive, or transfer a detachable magazine that has a capacity of more than 20 rounds of ammunition for a firearm.

But what about just owning them? Is that illegal? What if I've "always" had them? What happens when someone moves in from out of state and already owns 30 rounders?

edited for clarity ...I cannot type today!
Link Posted: 12/18/2002 11:08:46 AM EST
I am NOT a lawyer, but from what you quoted, owning them should be fine. You just can't get more, or give them away to someone (transfer), or offer to sell them, etc.
Link Posted: 12/18/2002 3:56:30 PM EST
A little while ago I spoke with the Maryland State Police firearms unit about moving to MD with my guns. I was told that I can bring anything into the state except firearms that are on the MD banned list. MD had two assault weapons lists, one is weapons that are banned from private possession. The other is weapons that you can bring into the state, but cant sell to anyone in MD and can't buy once you live in MD. Magazines larger than 20 rounds can't be sold in or shipped to MD, but you can buy them out of state and bring them back yourself. Most MD residents go to PA or DE to pick up high cap mags. I don't have the phone number off hand, but they were very helpful in asnwering my questions.
Link Posted: 12/18/2002 3:58:30 PM EST