Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/19/2017 7:27:10 PM
Posted: 3/22/2006 10:51:45 AM EDT

Sorry for all the questions in one day, but you guys are very helpful. I have a ban compliant bushmaster that has been with me for a few years now. Based on the advice in the other thread, I am going to have it cut down to 14.5 and add a vortex to it. I have this issue though, I am looking for the best close contact weapon. COnsidering an Eotech or an aimpoint. Should I sell this rifle (or buy another) with a flattop, or will a forward (scout style) carry handle mount do a good job for optics mounting?
Link Posted: 3/22/2006 10:53:05 AM EDT
Link Posted: 3/22/2006 10:54:34 AM EDT

Originally Posted By Stickman:
You could always just drop an A3 upper onto it, then sell the A2 upper on the EE....

Doesn't he run the risk of running into Front Sight Base height issues?

Link Posted: 3/22/2006 10:56:16 AM EDT
Put an Aimpoint on the top of the A2 carry handle...
Link Posted: 3/22/2006 10:58:40 AM EDT
I want to cowitness.
Link Posted: 3/22/2006 10:58:40 AM EDT
Link Posted: 3/22/2006 11:05:12 AM EDT

Originally Posted By Stickman:

I didn't when I did the same thing to my Bushie A2....

Did you go Bushy to Bushy? Bushmaster must use the same rear sight height on there A2 and A3 upper receivers.
Link Posted: 3/22/2006 11:07:23 AM EDT
the height problem can be fixed with a $4 extra high front sight post.
Link Posted: 3/22/2006 11:18:38 AM EDT
Link Posted: 3/22/2006 12:30:54 PM EDT
markm- you know better, don't you? That extra height really doesn't make a difference.

Jason- since you are looking at cutting the barrel as well, that's two strikes against that particular upper. Not that there is anything wrong with it per se, but it isn't fitting your idea of what you want right now.

My advice would be to sell the upper on the EE and buy a new or used A3 flattop upper with a 14.5" barrel with permanently attached phantom.