Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 12/31/2002 7:57:17 PM EDT
I'm considering buying an ATN 5X33L and was wondering if anyone had any experience with this particular scope?  I have a Bushmaster A3 shorty, and I am also considering swapping the standard front sites for a flip-up version.  I want to be able to easily switch between iron sites and a scope (at least until I can afford another rifle :-) ).  Any feedback would be appreciated.  Thanks.
Link Posted: 1/1/2003 7:46:44 AM EDT
[#1]
An ATN 5X33L is mounted on my Bushy Shorty AK.  Put there cause it was in the parts bin when we finished-out the rifle.  THERE ARE BETTER SCOPES OUT THERE but this particular ATN works fine for me.  The factory mount is a POS but it WILL tighten down and stay in place.  The optics are mediocre but not bad.  It holds zero and the bullet drop compensator is fun to use if not particularly accurate.  The illuminated reticle is DAMN SURE RED, must have something to do with it coming from a ex-COMBLOC country.  One reason I like the scope is it sits as low as possible on the rifle with M4 handguards in place, and I mean ONE YOUNG RCH over the plastic.  The ATN has about a MILE of adjustment in it as Lordtrader will testify.  YOU DO NOT NEED A FLIP-DOWN FRONT SIGHT.  The focal length of the 5X33L won't begin to resolve the front sight on my M4.  You look right through the front sight like it isn't there.  It ain't pretty, it is heavy, everybody badmouths them but the 5X33L works for me.

Link Posted: 1/1/2003 9:39:10 AM EDT
[#2]
I have pretty much the same experience as Arock.  

Get different rings.  The ones that came with mine stripped out on the first installation.

The optics are okay and the reticle is bright when illuminated.  However, since the reticle is also etched you do not need the illumination in most circumstances.