Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 11/29/2007 7:33:29 PM EDT
Well, I'm still trying to plan my first build and still going between RH, LH

I asked this wayyyyy down the thread so I'm asking it again.

From my research any lower will work, just get a "both ways" safety

the upper reciever will need to be left handed, as well as the bolt carrier...

Thats about all I know, What other parts are left handed specific??  I'm new to the black rifle (in case you have not noticed)  But I do have years of rifle and shooting experience, I have built partially or fully every bot action I own, and my 1911 (I know different, but I'm savy to know what to do and what to let a smith do)       At this point planning on piecing my projet together, unless I go "right" then just getting a completed upper, and just building my lower.

so if anyone could break it down, I'd really appreciate it!!
Link Posted: 11/29/2007 7:36:52 PM EDT
[#1]
There are ambi magazine catches as well.
Link Posted: 11/29/2007 7:44:36 PM EDT
[#2]
the barrel extension is ambidextrous, with beveled lugs on both sides.  Right handed extensions are beveled on only one side.   Nobody other than Stag makes chrome lined barrels with ambi extensions, and the Stag barrels only come in 1:9 twist.  Thats something to think about if you want a chrome lined barrel that is different specs than the Stag.  Many people say a barrel with a normal extension will work fine, but if you want it the right way, you should have the ambi extension.  I've been trying to get someone to make me a chrome lined barrel with ambi extension for over a year now.  Plenty of promises, but nobody will deliver.

the other ambi parts are bolt, carrier and upper receiver.  Bolt catch and selector are optional.
Link Posted: 11/29/2007 10:41:15 PM EDT
[#3]
if you were on a battlefield there wouldn't be any left handed AR's
Link Posted: 11/29/2007 11:03:36 PM EDT
[#4]

Quoted: