Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 10/10/2004 10:01:21 PM EDT
I've been shooting and reloading for many years, but have just gotten seriously interested in owning an AR-15.  I've been lurking around here for the last couple of weeks trying to pick up as much of the lingo as I can. I'm trying to decide exactly what I want. I had pretty much decided on some configuration of a Rock River Arms rifle and then somebody hung a flyer up on the garage sale board at work.  I know this is not really the configuration I'm looking for but I'm also guessing it might be worth the money. What can you guys tell me, good or bad, about a Palmetto Armory CAR-15A1? It has an 11.5" barrel, 2-position colapsible stock and a Magpul grip. It comes with(10) 30 round mags., 1 Colt 20 round mag, and 180 rounds of ammo. It also comes with an Atchisson semi/full auto .22 cal conversion kit, M7 bayonet, 5 1/2" flash hider, tactical sling, military bipod, the original grip, a bag full of mag. followers and a black nyon case. He is also throwing in an extra stripped lower (type not specified) and an extra bolt carrier.  He is asking $1000 for the whole thing, but also says he will also consider any reasonable offer.  I know that this is not exactly what I'm looking for, but I'm also thinking it might e a good way to get started and learn a little more about what I really do want.  Thanks for any help. I' sure I'll have more questions in the near future.

Dave
Link Posted: 10/10/2004 10:44:57 PM EDT
[#1]
Palmetto is an early Olympic Arms gun. Machined from billet. Nice piece. The barrel is too short for social work, and not chromed, but an excellent plinker, if thats your desire. If its in good shape, pay him 8 or 9 for the hole thing. Shoot out the barrel and reconfigure after you have some trigger time.

OAI still warranties Palmettos, I believe. Go for it.
Link Posted: 10/10/2004 11:38:43 PM EDT
[#2]
Combat  Jack,