Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 8/18/2005 7:42:29 PM EDT
Hello all.

I'm a newbie to ARs (don't own one yet), and I've been lurking here for many months.  A 16" midlength is what I've decided on.  I'm looking into either the RRA Elite CAR A4 or the RRA Elite CAR UTE2.

Basically, my AR needs to be a KISS firearm.  I may add the EOTech much later down the road.  I would love some input and opinions on these two ARs.  Pros and cons of both would be appreciated.  Pictures of your own builds would be great as well.  Thanks everyone!

BTW, the AR would be for home-defense and SHTF in a mostly urban setting.
Link Posted: 8/18/2005 8:00:40 PM EDT
[#1]
Welcome, and my condolences on getting the disease.  :-)

I have a Tactical CAR A4, and I'm a big fan.  I've accessorized it enough to make it highly resemble the Government Model they have on there.  

As far as I can tell, the only difference is that the UTE has the permanent iron on there, whereas the tactical A4 has the true flattop with the "tactical carry handle" on there.  I eventually ditched the handle when I mounted an EOTech on mine, and put an ARMS #40L flipup behind it.  I suspect that if you ever get an optic (which will be hard to resist), the permanent irons on the rear may bug you.  You have more versatility with the A4.

It's worth noting that both are heavy barrels.  I get along fine with mine, but some folks don't like the extra weight.  I'm not going to start another round of flame wars over that, but it's something you should be aware of.

I also might look into getting a barrel that's chrome lined for a little extra, if you're ordering direct.  The Wilson barrel is excellent, and a lot more accurate than I am, but chrome will make cleaning less of a chore, at the expense of a little accuracy supposedly, though with a SHTF KISS carbine, you likely won't notice a difference between the two.