Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 1/6/2003 8:04:45 AM EDT
I am a newbie to the AR Scene and have recently purchased a supposed pre-ban CAR from a local gun dealer here in Vegas. My question is this, after purchase of the gun, (Eagle Arms A2)I ran the serial number on the Armalite web site and it came back as a post ban, factory assembled rifle intended for export or law enforcement use. The barrel is 16" long with suppressor, 11.5 without, and has a fixed bayonet mount point. I can't find any markings on the barrel other than a couple of numbers on the bottom of the front sight, and they read S, then there is an RI in a circle, and then 4. I would like to find out a little about this rifle. It is nice and tight, finish is great, but the more educated I am on this rifle, the better. Any help would be greatly appreciated...Thanks
Link Posted: 1/6/2003 9:02:12 AM EDT
[#1]
Congratulations!. Unless you're an LEO and/or filled out the BATF paperwork and paid a $200.00
tax on it, you're illegaly in possession of an NFA weapon. The 11.5" barrell makes the firearm a SBR (Short Barrelled Rifle; unless the suppressor is permanently affixed, which I doubt).

The AW features: bayonet lug, threaded barrel and suppressor are in violation of the 94 crime bill.

Link Posted: 1/6/2003 9:43:17 AM EDT
[#2]
OK....I have got it sorted out....There is no Problem with the gun, so "Congradulations" are not in order...Thanks anyway. When I ran the serial number, I checked the Armalite, Coal Valley, IL box, when I should have checked the Eagle Arms, Coal Valley, IL. When the correct box is checked, the serial number comes up as a pre-ban Mfg. I have also sent for a certificate of Authenticity for the weapon, as well. It appears the gun is still in it's factory built state....Thanks for the help
Link Posted: 1/6/2003 11:47:36 AM EDT
[#3]