Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 4/6/2006 9:52:21 AM EDT
After reading many posts, & checking out the Bushmaster/RRA/DPMS sites; I would like to create my own rifle - DCM/NM upper set-up with a 6 position telestock. Has anyone built 1 along these lines? In Bushy's catalog they make it sound rather easy by just "snapping" the complete upper receiver to the complete lower, & voila; a rifle has been born! Now some questions:

1) How hard is this to do when you're provided with complete upper/lower sets (must remember I'm a AR newb & have little experience with this breed of rifle). What tools; if any; would be needed?

2) Sticking with 1 brand ie all Bushy, or all RRA easier to assemble vs a complete upper from RRA & a complete lower from Bushy or DPMS?

3) Can someone like Steve @ ADCO or Pete @ AR Sales/Legal Transfers build such a rifle @ a reasonable cost, or should I save the $$$ for ammo & build myself?

4) Is 1 brand of complete upper (and complete lower as well) easier to work with, or is considered of better quality/value/best bang for da buck?

5) Who has good prices on such uppers/lowers?

6) As a newb; am I annoying anyone yet Your feedback would be greatly appreciated!
Link Posted: 4/6/2006 10:26:30 AM EDT
[#1]
If you have a complete upper and lower receiver than all it takes is a push of 2 pins and you have yourself a complete rifle. As far as one company being easier to work with than another.. no they are all compatible and all the parts should fit each other and be interchangable.

Far as prices go.. check the EE here to find great deals. The big names like RRA Bushy etc are all great companies and produce great products... cant go wrong with any of them.
Link Posted: 4/7/2006 8:40:45 AM EDT
[#2]

Quoted: