Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 10/23/2004 6:27:03 PM EST
Im looking at getting into getting an AR15 but have no clue where to start. What brand/models do you suggest on me looking into i would like to get a model with a shorter barrel. what do you suggest to learn on?
Link Posted: 10/23/2004 6:29:18 PM EST
Link Posted: 10/23/2004 6:32:29 PM EST
[Last Edit: 10/23/2004 6:33:18 PM EST by knightsar]
KAC,Colt,Bushmaster,RRA,DPMS and ArmaLite . Not necessarily in that order.

IMO
You are on the right site to get help just reserch and ask questions.
Link Posted: 10/23/2004 6:34:35 PM EST
I always recommend Colt and ArmaLite, you cant go wrong with either
Link Posted: 10/23/2004 6:34:45 PM EST
[Last Edit: 10/23/2004 6:36:07 PM EST by Wampum]
Well thats kinda like saying "I'm new to buying cars, which one should I buy"

I'm pretty new myself and I have been browsing this board for couple months now. Even after spending hours and hours reading countless posts I'm still not sure which i am going to buy. Check it out read as many interesting threads you can, then when you know more ask more specific questions. So far the only thing I have bought is an AMEETEC stripped lower and 10 Labelle Mags, so far so good. THe rest will be pieced together in teh up and coming weeks.

but yeah brands: Rock River Arms, Colt, Bushmaster, Armalite are the brands for the rest of the AR that I'm looking at
Link Posted: 10/23/2004 6:44:34 PM EST
[Last Edit: 10/23/2004 6:46:07 PM EST by icantdance]
If you can get a Colt at a decent price, that's what I would choose.

Bushmaster would be my second choice.

You can look up the opinions as new-arguy has stated. You may also note the industry tab to look up the AR manufacture.

Go with factory ammo

And take it easy with the "goodies" at first.

Despite the manifesto here on Colt, I believe Colt to be the best production AR-15 made.
Link Posted: 10/23/2004 6:53:01 PM EST