Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 10/19/2008 4:32:01 PM EDT
Hey guys, I've been shooting and hunting all my life, but I only own lever action, bolt action, and flintlock rifles, and my shotgun is a side-by-side. So, I'm new to the AR market.

I live in CT, so I have to deal with our asinine "assault weapon" laws, which means no flash suppressors, bayonet mounts, extendable stocks, etc. Basically, it's Hell. Anyway, one rifle that I really like (and that conforms to CT law) is the Rock River Arms Varmint A4. I'd like to throw a nice scope on there, along with an ACE Skeleton stock.

My question is whether there are any drawbacks to getting the 16" rather than the 18"? Since the barrels are so heavy on these suckers I'd prefer the shorter and lighter 16". However, I'v heard that the mid-length gas system of the 18" is preferable, but I honestly don't know what that means. I'll be using the rifle to just have some fun at the range, and to hunt coyote, so I don't need anything that has to function in extreme conditions. But, of course, I'd prefer the to deal with the extra length if it meant an all-around more reliable rifle.

Side note: I'm away in Scotland now, but I wanted to ensure that I have my purchase planned out in advance. I'll be back in December, and if Obama wins the election I want to make sure I have my rifle safely in my hands in case he and his left-wing pals decide to further screw with America's gun owners and the US Constitution.

Thanks a lot for your help, fellas.
Link Posted: 10/19/2008 4:58:36 PM EDT
[#1]
I've got the RRA Varminter with the 24" bbl. You are right, these suckers can get heavy FAST! Personally, I would recommend the 18" bbl. You'll gain a little velocity over the 16" and have the middy gas system. You'll get the Wylde chamber and a 1:8 twist so you will probably have good results shooting bullet's 55 grn's and up.