Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Troubleshooting
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 11/27/2004 2:22:32 PM EDT
Yesterday I took my brand new Bushmaster XM15-E2S-A2. ( 14.5" M4 barrel w/ Izzy FH, A2 carry handle/sites, telescoping stock, "no ban").

I fired the first shot and then realized the trigger did not reset. I looked in the receiver and the spent casing and the new round the bolt stripped off the mag are trying to occupy the same space. I dropped the mag and pulled the charging handle back. The empty casing and a fresh round fall out. Insert mag and start over.

Next pull of the trigger....same thing. I grab a different mag, same thing. Repeat and repeat.

I am no AR expert but I have owned a Colt Match Target (20" A2 ban era) for 9yrs now. So I do know how to clean an AR and keep it maintained. So far, I have never had a problem with the Colt.

Okay, here is what I did and observed while troubleshooting.

To start, I had two makes of ammo. AE .233 and Malaysian 5.56 NATO. The Malaysian is '80's era but I never had trouble with it in the Colt. Except for one dud round.

I use a mixed set of mags, Colt 20 rounders, 30 round new Labelles, DPMS, and US made Thermolds.

I took the rifle home and cleaned it again. I checked the gas key, looked for burrs, cleaned, lubed and reassembled. Everything looks right. No obvious issues.

I took the Bushmaster and the Colt out again today. I started with single shots to see if the bolt would lock back. It did, but the spent casing is still in the receiver. Load another single, same thing.

So now I do some parts swapping. I took the entire bolt and bolt carrier from the Colt and installed it the Bushy. Now the Bushy is running like a charm. Ran through two 20's no sweat. Brass is landing to my side at about 3 o'clock so the Bushy is throwing it slightly rearward. Seems to be landing about 4 to 5 ft away.