Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 1/29/2011 2:27:43 PM EDT
Hello all & thanks in advance.

I am  a couple of weeks from the purchase of a Larue OBR 556 18" barrel.

I chose this rifle for it's accuracy & want to be careful matching it to a decent scope. I am a bit new to scopes and had some basic questions to try to clear up some of my confusion.

I need a all around scope; from close up varmints to long range targets. I plan to put a LaRue angle mount with a H-1 aim point for any real close up work.

I am leaning towards a Nikon M-223   3-12X42 NikoPlex with the speed turrets. I feel like the turrets would be more accurate than the BDC recticle. I think for the money, it's alot of scope. But, I REALLY like the Trijicon  2.5-10x56 AccuPoint that I looked at. I know it's twice the price, but  It is a super sexy scope, super bright, clear & a cool LIT recticle. But, you loose the turrets. How important is it to have easily adjustable turrets? Is the Trijicon geared more for hunting that target/tactical? How important is the lit recticle?

I guess, simple put, it the Trijicon "style" of scope be better than the Nikon "style of scope" (turrets, no lit recticle ect..).

Trust me I am not rich, so I want to be happy with the Nikon, but man, that Trijicon is really cool & I could just wait & save more for it, if it really is that much better.

Thanks again.
Link Posted: 1/29/2011 3:08:23 PM EDT
[#1]
if you like the trijicon then check out the mil-dot version . you can use the mil-dots for range estimation and hold over at extended range.
Link Posted: 1/29/2011 7:07:24 PM EDT
[#2]
Quoted:
if you like the trijicon then check out the mil-dot version . you can use the mil-dots for range estimation and hold over at extended range.

So that would take place of using the Nikon speed turits?
Link Posted: 1/30/2011 8:16:20 AM EDT
[#3]