Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
Member Login

Posted: 4/5/2017 1:45:20 PM EDT
I am fairly new to the AR world and I am looking at buying a red dot optic.  I am trying to choose between the Aimpoint Pro which I've heard is great but doesn't have a magnifier.  I am also considering Primary Arms 2.5X Compact.  It is a lot cheaper and is magnified.  Being so new to the AR world I could use some help from some of you.

Also, what are yalls thoughts on Vortex?

Any help is appreciated!!
Link Posted: 4/5/2017 2:10:21 PM EDT
All 3 of those are GTG. Might depend on your usage. If it is for defense then get the PRO or something without magnificaiton. If you want an all around gun for hunting and defense then you might do a 1-4x scope or 1-6x with illumination. The PA 2.5x might do the same.

Adding a red dot plus a magnifier is probably a little heavy imho...
Link Posted: 4/5/2017 2:58:50 PM EDT
What is the purpose of the AR?  Previous poster hit the nail on the head. For HD get the Aimpoint. If you want to range out or hunt, get the PA, or an LPV.  I have a magnifier, but I don't us it. If I'm going to magnify I go with an LPV, 1-4, or 1-6.  I have never owned the PA RDS, but I've heard they are a good budget optic.
Link Posted: 4/5/2017 3:23:21 PM EDT
i went for the Trijicon MRO because it has off in the middle of the brightness settings, it also weighs about 1/2 as much as the PRO though a few ounces doesn't really matter in my opinion, i think the MRO is about $50 more than the PRO though

they make 3x magnifiers you can mount behind the non-magnified red-dots, but i'd just get a magnified optic before i did that personally 
Link Posted: 4/5/2017 5:42:16 PM EDT
Thanks for all the feedback. My main purpose for my AR is home defense and taking to the range every now and then. I'm just looking for the best optic for a decent price. I'm not sure how important a magnifier would be to me...