Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 10/12/2004 7:54:12 AM EDT
Since the Ar15  design lends itself to  swapping  uppers depending on the  intended usage of the weapon at any particular time I was wondering   if  the members  who have  switched  uppers on their  AR  use the same  bolt carrier/bolt  in  the   the uppers they  switch on and off  or  do they  use a  separate bolt carier and bolt for each upper.    There are some  prety strong  warnings inthe M16 USMC tech manual against swapping  bolts & carriers. Since I  am considering    doing some upper swapping  I was  curious/concerned about the safety issues
Link Posted: 10/12/2004 8:39:21 AM EDT
[#1]
I have been swapping for 12+ years.  I have never had a problem.  I use a head space gauge but I don't worry about it.  I do it less often now that I am blessed to be able to have a carrier for each different upper.  There has to be a reason however for the warnings by the military.  I can't say what is right for any one else just that it has worked for me in the past.
pjc  
Link Posted: 10/12/2004 9:17:29 AM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
Since the Ar15  design lends itself to  swapping  uppers depending on the  intended usage of the weapon at any particular time I was wondering   if  the members  who have  switched  uppers on their  AR  use the same  bolt carrier/bolt  in  the   the uppers they  switch on and off  or  do they  use a  separate bolt carier and bolt for each upper.    There are some  prety strong  warnings inthe M16 USMC tech manual against swapping  bolts & carriers. Since I  am considering    doing some upper swapping  I was  curious/concerned about the safety issues

I swap uppers/lowers on occasion, but always keep the bolt groups with their respective uppers.