Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 7/4/2003 5:33:16 PM EDT
The benefits of the mid-length hand guards vs the carbine lengths from my standpoint is that the sight radius is lengthend with the mid.  Thus your incident of sight error is reduced. Now-if you happen to use an optic with the carbine this is totally negated. If it is free floated than it is doubly so.  The other benefit I've heard is that the mids have less of a gas impulse bite because of the added inches in the gas tube.  I've been shooting my carbine for 11 years and haven't had a problem (minus a broken extractor pin which I replaced on the spot in the field).  On a minor note, the mids have more of a usable surface area for handling but is negated if one uses a vertical grip which is currently en vouge these days.  Ah the choices!
Link Posted: 7/4/2003 6:13:37 PM EDT
[#1]
I helped a friend put a mid-length with a stainless barrel and I have to admit it is a sharp looking rifle. If you already have the carbine then maybe a little change would be nice.

[beer] Welcome!
Link Posted: 7/4/2003 7:05:23 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 7/4/2003 7:14:14 PM EDT
[#3]
I think that the mid-lengths have their merits (as per the opening article) but all but one of their merits can negated (the longer gas system) yet I'm still not convinced it is so much better due to the many years of shooting carbines w/o problems.  As far as looks go, I would agree they [the mids] look more proportionate with their 16 inch barrels but I'll take funtionality and economy versus pure asthetics.  In the end, if my carbine is not broke I won't pay to fix it.
Link Posted: 7/4/2003 8:29:40 PM EDT
[#4]