Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
Durkin Tactical Franklin Armory
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 12/16/2010 4:23:59 AM EDT
Good morning,

I am soon to receive my first AR!  I've wanted one for quite some time and my great friend Jamie made it happen. A Stag Arms model 2. I'm very excited about it and have been looking at some accessories for it.   As it's my first I am new to the rifle and have a question for you all.   One of them is changing out the handguard, buttstock and grip.  I've been looking at the Magpul MOE kit.  The complete kit comes with a replacement mil-spec buffer tube, etc. but I am unsure if I need these items?  According to the Stag Arms site it says the upper is mil-spec but not sure if that applies to the buffer tube and parts?   I'm don't know what constitutes a "commercial" vs mil-spec replacement part and who would need the buffer tube parts or not.  It's really not less expensive to skip the buffer tube parts kit though.........

Thanks a lot and happy holidays.

Christian
Link Posted: 12/16/2010 4:27:13 AM EDT
[#1]
Your buffer tube should be Mil-spec on a Stag. Have only owned one and it was.
Link Posted: 12/16/2010 4:33:58 AM EDT
[#2]
Welcome to the site.

Quoted:
Good morning,

I am soon to receive my first AR!  I've wanted one for quite some time and my great friend Jamie made it happen. A Stag Arms model 2. I'm very excited about it and have been looking at some accessories for it.   As it's my first I am new to the rifle and have a question for you all.

Congrats.  Welcome to the world of BRD.