Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 8/8/2011 6:02:33 PM EDT
Hello all!  I just purchased my first AR style gun.  I got a Bushmaster 5.56 Optics Ready setup.  My first accessories for it were the Magpul front grip, rails for the top and bottom of it, Magpul MBUS backup sights and an angled fore grip

My problem is that when I put it all together, the rear rail (the one that's part of the gun) is causing the sight to sit about 1/4 - 3/8" lower then the front.  First, I am not sure how to measure the risers.  From the top of the riser, all the way to the bottom is 3/4", the gun came with 2 of these, but when I put that on, the rear is now too high for the front.  I tried looking for rails, but everything I find online is being labeled a 1/2" riser.  Do I actually have 1/2" risers and I just don't know how they are measured?  If I do have 1/2" risers, are there any smaller?  I tried searching for 1/4" risers but did not have any luck with that.

I have uploaded 3 pictures to show my issues.  Before anyone asks, I moved the rear sight all the way forward to illustrate the height difference.

Can anyone help this AR noob?

EDIT: Removed pictures, they aren't needed anymore....

Link Posted: 8/8/2011 6:25:44 PM EDT
[#1]

I own and a fan of the MOE stuff,but this front sight placement will not yield a stable mount for your front sight post. The Moe handguard while pretty rigid will move some left to right and your POA will suffer..
Might want to look into a quality quad-rail. While this is not ideal it will serve you better than the MOE..
Link Posted: 8/8/2011 6:44:18 PM EDT
[#2]
There is a bit of play in my MOE handguards I can twist the handguard when holding the rifle and it moves a bit, and would not put a sight on it. I didn't even know you could put a rail on top of the MOE. I think you should rethink this approach.
Link Posted: 8/8/2011 6:45:53 PM EDT