Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Posted: 9/26/2004 8:00:55 AM EST
Hi all,

I'm still waiting for my first AR-15 (Bushmaster M4gery) to show up at my dealer, but I'd like to go ahead and order an M4 RAS to go with it. I'm a complete novice when it comes to buying AR-15 parts - can you guys give me some advice on where to order one and what I should expect to pay? The best price I've found so far is $305 - just wondering what you would consider a "good deal." Should I hold out and look for one on the EE?

Thanks in advance for your advice,

Dave
Link Posted: 9/26/2004 8:20:26 AM EST
[Last Edit: 9/26/2004 8:32:14 AM EST by USMC03]
Dave,

If you are going to pay retail for a rail system I would highly recommend getting a free floated rail system. They cost about the same (give or take approximately $20, depending on the make) but they are much more rigid (you really notice this when you torque down on the vertical fore grip), they free float the barrel, and often times they are much lighter than a standard RAS.

I would highly recommend the Knights freefloated RAS, the Daniel Defense free floated Rail System, or the LaRue Free Floated Rail system.

I own all 3 listed above and have owned others, but the three listed above are the best of the bunch. In my honest opinion the LaRue rail system has everything on the market beat by a wide margin. The LaRue Rail System is approximately 8 oz., it is the only rail system on the market to have an anti-roll device, and it's much cheaper than the competition $262 with 3 Tango Down rail covers or $247 without the rail covers. I recently purchased (2) of the LaRue rail systems along with the LaRue Aimpoint mounts. Both my primary and secondary SWAT guns are wearing LaRue rail systems.

For all the rail systems listed above you can check:

G and R Tactical

or

MSTN

Good Luck

Semper Fi
Jeff
Link Posted: 9/26/2004 8:30:11 AM EST
Dave,