Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 8/23/2004 6:26:47 PM EDT
But not sure about which one to pick up.  I've got a budget of about $1000, give or take a hundred.  I am looking for an rifle that I can use for some hunting, but also as an accurate plinker at the range to work on my marksmanship with.  I'd like to be able to use iron sights on this rifle, prior to outfitting it with a scope (which I want to do later).  Obviously, I'm looking for one rifle to fulfill a lot of roles.  However, I'm a broke college student, or will be after this purchase + ammo + range time hree
Someone has suggested I get a Rock River DCM.  I looked at the specs and it looks like basically what I want.  I have also heard people say I could get an AR-15, and later pick up a 7.62NATO upper.  Someone else indicated that will not work.  It would be nice to be able to shoot both calibers from one lower, the 7.62 NATO would be nice for larger game in particular.  If I had to pick just one, however, while I slightly lean towards the 5.56mm, I am definitely open to suggestions chambered in 7.62NATO.

Anyways, I thought I'd post here because just about everyone on this forum should know their AR-15s (seeing as this is an AR-15 forum).
Link Posted: 8/23/2004 6:37:39 PM EDT
[#1]
Look at Armalites AR10 or Bushmasters BAR10 both are quality rilfes but with a high price tag, I have never heard of getting a 7.62 upper to work with a AR15 lower, I doubt it would work with that big of a round
Link Posted: 8/23/2004 6:38:57 PM EDT
[#2]
But I would definetly wait till after sept14 so you can get yourself a Post preban rifle
Link Posted: 8/23/2004 6:49:09 PM EDT
[#3]
WELCOME

what do you plan on hunting?

if its varmint then get a 16" 5.56 from RRA, Buashmaster, or Armalite.

if its anything the size of a deer or bigger I would reccomend a 16" .308 from armalite.