Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/19/2017 7:27:10 PM
Posted: 9/11/2010 6:29:58 PM EDT
I'm building my first ar, a 6.8, and I'd like to get a 22 upper for cheap plinking. I'm new to the whole ar world, I've been more of an ak man up till now, so any help would be appreciated.

This is one I've been looking at; from Tactical Solutions

I'm unfamiliar with 4140 lined aluminum barrels. Are there any issues I should know about? limited lifespan? poor accuracy due to heat?

Also, is there a way to attach a picatiny rail to the handguard? I just want to be able to mount a bipod...

Thanks
Link Posted: 9/11/2010 7:44:28 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 9/11/2010 7:51:08 PM EDT by frog5215]
Why the lightweight?
I don't see uppers with quadrail handguards on TacSol's website, but they can probably fix you up.
Spikes, CMMG, M1S, any of these outfits will set you up with whatever configuration you want.
Model 1 Sales' website shows menus, but a phone call to Spikes or probably CMMG will get whatever components you want,; TacSol will likely accomodate specific requests.

If you're building this as a trainer for your 6.8, (or any other caliber) you can exactly duplicate the centerfire setup with your rimfire upper
Link Posted: 9/11/2010 7:51:09 PM EDT
I really could care less about the weight. The main thing I liked about it was the free float handguards.
Also the thicker barrel, but that may not matter since most of it is aluminum, like I said, no experience with that sort of thing.

I just want to get the most accurate 22 upper I can.
Link Posted: 9/11/2010 8:02:29 PM EDT
I'm sure it's not the norm but I had a TacSol aluminum barrel for my 10/22. It shot 1.5-2" at 50 yards. Not impressive. Same set up with a Green Mountain fluted bull barrel shot sub 1/2" at 50 yards.
Link Posted: 9/11/2010 8:18:30 PM EDT
Originally Posted By shadowcop: