Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/19/2017 7:27:10 PM
Posted: 9/30/2002 4:26:21 PM EDT
Hello folks.

I've been shooting my ARs with mini-Y comp for 8 months now. With a hearing protection, I thought it is quite okay in terms of muzzle rise reduction and "looks".

It is last Saturday when I went to the range to blast some Q3131A and SA ammo I realized why some people here on AR15.com are so selective about pre-ban rifles. I saw the flash suppressor in action. Puff - a LOT less noise without hearing protection, almost no flash visible, and also no back blast, less smoke redirected.

I knew I had to get rid of mini-Y comp sooner or later, but now I'm thinking to get rid of this as soon as possible.

I know Kurts Tac Brakes are not designed to do what Gov. A2 birdcage was degisned to do, but I'd like to hear some comparisons between mini-Y comp, A2 birdcage and Kurts Tac brakes in terms of noise and back blast level. After hearing the noise level of flash suppressor, I think I will not be able to use my current mini-Y comped carbine for defensive training(without heavy hearing protections).

I told myself to stop thinking about this since there is a chance that 94" AW BAN will sunset, but I guess I've had enough of it.
Link Posted: 10/3/2002 2:30:42 PM EDT
I just sent a BM AR15 into Wilson's Combat to get their A2 Tac Brake installed in place of the mini Y comp. I usually shoot pre-ban, but bought the BM to check out the M4 configuration. I hated the brake, especially the back blast, to the extent that I was not ever taking it to the range to shoot. I am confident that my new brake's design will fix that problem.
Link Posted: 10/3/2002 4:10:05 PM EDT