Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 2/28/2006 7:51:41 PM EDT
i am new to AR's and have been an ak guy since i got one a few months back. All i seem to hear about ar's on the dark side is they are accurate but jam allot. I know theyre accurate, but do they jam allot?
Link Posted: 2/28/2006 7:53:44 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 2/28/2006 7:54:29 PM EDT by Snaps]
my colts never have through probably about 8K rounds between them, my bushmaster did a few times
Link Posted: 2/28/2006 7:54:30 PM EDT
Its called a "FTF" Failure to Feed".

IF it is built properly and you have good quality mags and use good ammunition, you will have little or 0 problems.

On the other hand, using poor parts, cheap ammo and cheap mags= NO GOOD.
YMMV
JF
Link Posted: 2/28/2006 8:05:13 PM EDT
good ammo makes a world of difference in mine
Link Posted: 2/28/2006 8:13:55 PM EDT
Properly built AR's do not "jam"

Sometimes people run into problems if they use shitty magazines, or have buffer springs that are too powerful, gas ports drilled too small, etc.

The AK can definitely take more abuse, and if you shovel mud into an AR and an AK, the AR will undoubtedly fail first.

However, given the normal maintenance that any person should easily be able to do, the AR is a 100% reliable system.
Link Posted: 2/28/2006 8:44:44 PM EDT
If you know how to maintain and lube it,use good mags and ammo it will shoot and shoot and shoot.Go to armalite.com click on tech notes and tech note 62 will explain everything.
Link Posted: 2/28/2006 9:04:29 PM EDT
As a rule, they DO NOT JAM. But when they do, then they were either not built (usually home built) properly; or have used faulty ammo; or have not been properly maintained. IMO
Link Posted: 2/28/2006 11:25:18 PM EDT
ahhh ok
Link Posted: 3/1/2006 12:58:41 AM EDT
I spent 6 years in the Army, and saw exactly ONE M16 that wouldn't run.
Link Posted: 3/1/2006 3:14:54 AM EDT
No jam problems.