Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
Posted: 6/24/2016 12:27:49 AM EDT
So im new to the variant game. currently piecing a 300 AAC shorty together, and want something for some range/single shot type stuff..

2 questions.. 20 or 24"?

second.. this deal sounds good but its my first night researching so....?

http://www.joeboboutfitters.com/Radical_Firearms_24_6_5_GRENDEL_COMPLETE_Upper_w_p/rf-upper-fhr24-6.5.htm
Link Posted: 6/24/2016 1:58:05 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 6/24/2016 1:59:45 AM EDT by Scotts556]
Do some more research and if your going down the grendel hole. Make sure you get a SAMI spec barrel and bolt. Alexander arms makes good stuff. The grendel is fun. Its not 260 rem or 6.5 creedmore. But it will impress you with what it can do.

Edit and to answer your question. 16 or 18 inch. Head over to the precision rifle section and read up on some of the grendels guys are using over there. They are doing some impressive stuff with 18 inch tubes.
Link Posted: 6/24/2016 10:13:50 AM EDT
These Radical uppers have gotten some good reviews from the 65forum guys. I sprang for one also. Finished putting the scope on last night after my Aero mount came in. I will go out and shoot it this weekend. I wanted a decent gun to get my foot into the Grendel door. I figured this was the cheapest way to do so. I can upgrade later depending on how this goes. But at least I now have a Grendel before the panic bullshit takes over every AR caliber available.

Link Posted: 6/24/2016 10:36:00 AM EDT
Link Posted: 6/24/2016 12:11:00 PM EDT
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Originally Posted By dryflash3:
I went with an 18 inch barrel on my Grendel.
View Quote

Same here, and I'm getting 2530fps from factory 123gr sst loads.
Link Posted: 6/24/2016 12:21:29 PM EDT
I read that 6.5 > 6.8, i havent done any creedmore vs grendel reading though..
Link Posted: 6/24/2016 12:48:45 PM EDT