Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/26/2006 8:32:33 PM EDT
I have a colt I'm currently trying to take off the whole buttsock.  I've got most of it apart except for the metal tube out of the receiver.  Is that typically loc tighted in?  What do I use to hold my lower receiver?  Do I just get a piece of wood and stick it in my vice and then set the lower over the wood?

I'm a total newb when it comes to putting together and taking apart and stuff.   Sorryl.
Link Posted: 10/26/2006 8:38:44 PM EDT
[#1]
It may be loctited in.  You could try heating it up with a hairdryer then using a wrench on the nut that's on the buttstock end of the tube/extension.

I've never had to hold the lower in a vise for anything, but then again I've never had a stock loctited in either.    I'd just warm it as much as I could (where the threads are at the tube/receiver union, by the way) with a hairdryer and pin it to a carpeted floor with my knee while torquing on the nut with a wrench that fits it, lefty-loosey.  
Link Posted: 10/27/2006 5:19:19 PM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
It may be loctited in.  You could try heating it up with a hairdryer then using a wrench on the nut that's on the buttstock end of the tube/extension.

I've never had to hold the lower in a vise for anything, but then again I've never had a stock loctited in either.    I'd just warm it as much as I could (where the threads are at the tube/receiver union, by the way) with a hairdryer and pin it to a carpeted floor with my knee while torquing on the nut with a wrench that fits it, lefty-loosey.  

Thanks, that makes complete sense and I'll try that.  I appreciate it.

I got it off and made a swap I wanted to.!!!!!!!!  That was fun.
Link Posted: 10/28/2006 5:40:30 PM EDT
[#3]
Do you both have down synderome? Loctite? Are you high? Take it off with a crecent wrench.  
Link Posted: 10/28/2006 6:38:31 PM EDT
[#4]