Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
Member Login

Posted: 12/24/2003 11:59:13 AM EDT
Hello. I just ordered a bushmaster lower from a nearby gunshop and was told that the lower can only be sold as a replacement for my current AR and that it would be illegal to create a new gun with another upper.The shop said that I would be considered a manufacturer. Is this another stupid Illinois law (I do not live in Cook county, so it's not a county issue) or is the shop mistaken. This is my first build up of an AR so I'm not sure of the facts. Thanks everyone.
Link Posted: 12/24/2003 12:16:34 PM EDT
I believe it would only be an issue if you were building with the intention of selling.  Then you would be required to pay federal excise tax.  It's perfectly legal to build yourself a rifle.  Like most gun shop employees, these folks are misinformed.
Link Posted: 12/24/2003 1:01:09 PM EDT
Find another gunshop. Plenty of good ones out there. The 4473 form sort of eliminates his whole "create a new gun" argument.
Link Posted: 12/24/2003 1:03:21 PM EDT
Yup, your local shop is full of crap.  But considering some of the horrendously stupid advice and opinions I've heard from gun store owners/employees over the years this doesn't surprise me one bit.
Link Posted: 12/24/2003 1:21:36 PM EDT
Another vote for you dealer being full of it. The lower receiver IS the gun.
Link Posted: 12/24/2003 1:44:23 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 12/24/2003 1:45:50 PM EDT by SBR7_11]
The serial # makes it the firearm, so the dealer is selling you a firearm, nothing left for you to make, you're just adding an upper to allow it to function.

You are allowed to assemble your own firearm for personal use, but don't get in a habit of building and selling, otherwise the "excise tax" will become an issue, along with not having an 07 FFL.
Link Posted: 12/24/2003 2:03:54 PM EDT
[Last Edit: 12/24/2003 2:07:19 PM EDT by Kaliburz]
Originally Posted By Gimpy: