Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
11/22/2017 10:05:29 PM
Posted: 9/24/2004 5:07:02 PM EST
I have a Bushmaster that is about 2 years old, and about 1,000 rounds through it. It started to fail to extract ALOT.

I ordered an extractor rebuild kit , and sure enough it fixed the problem.

Do the springs go bad that quickly?

Could it have been the extractor instead of the spring? (it looked good, but I replaced it with the kit anyway) Can I buy a better spring like you can for the mags etc(Wolf etc), or was it just a fluke and I shouldn't worry about it.

Thanks in advance
Link Posted: 9/24/2004 5:09:06 PM EST
wolf makes an X power spring but I use the les baer one with a chromed extractor and ejector
Link Posted: 9/24/2004 5:11:21 PM EST
IMHO it is unusual for an extractor to fail in that short a time. Did you recently change the type of ammo you used? Change the stock/mainspring/buffer? Do you clean the chamber with a GI chamber brush?

Just a few thoughts. I'm sure others will have more comments to add.

-SC
Link Posted: 9/24/2004 5:16:26 PM EST
Go ahead and change it out. It's a simple operation and you'll know if that's the problem. You should also take your extractor out and clean that area from time to time. Do you do that?
Link Posted: 9/24/2004 5:31:27 PM EST
That is my #1 failure in my M16. Doesn't matter who makes it, after about 1000 rounds (uncleaned), it starts to fail. It is easier to replace then clean.
Link Posted: 9/24/2004 6:44:23 PM EST
That's weird, because I've never had one fail yet. And this is with 3 different bolt assys (in 2 guns at different times), over 10k rds fired.
Link Posted: 9/25/2004 12:42:27 AM EST
[Last Edit: 9/25/2004 12:44:03 AM EST by QUIB]