Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
11/20/2019 5:07:11 PM
Posted: 4/18/2006 10:31:59 AM EST
I know that Bushmaster uses a plastic trigger guard assembly on their rifles. I am wondering if anyone has had any durability issues with theirs.
Link Posted: 4/18/2006 10:43:37 AM EST
I own 4 Bushmasters and none have a plastic trigger guard. They range in age from about 5 years to 1 year old.
Link Posted: 4/18/2006 11:08:20 AM EST
most of the new ones have the plastic one and yes it is annoying. They do bend if you put pressure ont them -- enough to effect the trigger travel. Just knock out the roll pin and replace w/ a metal one.
Link Posted: 4/18/2006 12:50:09 PM EST
i have never had any problems with any of my bushmaster trigger guards and i would think if the force was there to bend it and cause problems with the trigger then it would probably just break and not be a problem.

i have a bushmaster rifle that i refer to as a beater and it has been thrown across the parking lot, thrown over a hill, off the rooftops, at a wall, slid on gravel floor and the trigger guard has never given me any problems.

there are better things i would spend my money on than buying some worthless "mil-spec" metal trigger guard. but since i actually shoot my rifles i guess i wouldnt know, i spend my money on ammo especially if its between some trigger guard or ammo.

ymmv, my .02 do as you please..
Link Posted: 4/18/2006 12:54:32 PM EST
I haven't broken one yet but I don't use it on the job either.
Link Posted: 4/18/2006 1:26:19 PM EST
You should look at getting a MAGPUL unit. If you need a standard aluminum unit IM me your address and I'll send you one.
Link Posted: 4/18/2006 2:14:35 PM EST

Originally Posted By K5:
I know that Bushmaster uses a plastic trigger guard assembly on their rifles. I am wondering if anyone has had any durability issues with theirs.