Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login

Site Notices
1/22/2020 12:12:56 PM
Posted: 9/13/2009 2:43:06 PM EST
Hi,
This is a great place to glean gobs of information. I have a new Bushmaster AR pistol in 9mm, and I am trying to remove the stock handguard. This is a royal pain, does anyone have any hints on how to get the threaded spacer off and then more advice from there. I also was wondering if anyone knew of handguards that would fit. Thanks for any help. These may seem like real "numbskull" questions, but the only stupid question is the one you don't ask. Or so they say. LOL Any help will be greatly appreciated. If this is posted in the wrong place please forgive me.

gr8jrny
Link Posted: 9/14/2009 7:08:04 AM EST
Hi, again. I have been checking to see if anyone has any info on my Bushmaster 9mm pistol. It appears as though no help yet. Anyway I have the stock handguard off, and am now wondering if there is an after market handguard that anyone would reccomend. I just hav a plain ruler but it appears as though it is about 4 15/16" from the black round thing with all the holes around it to the gas block. Any suggestions or other info will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
gr8jrny
Link Posted: 9/14/2009 7:14:41 AM EST
There are a number of manufacturers that make a pistol length forend for the AR15. I've got one from YHM on my shorty 9mm upper.
Link Posted: 9/14/2009 9:02:29 AM EST
Thanks for the reply GarrettJ. I will probably be posting questions as I go along on this project. I have mostly worked on "compliant" C & R type stuff, but am now charging into the AR realm. This pistol is not like any other I have seen, I guess Bushmaster has made the process of personalizing this product difficult because they don't want you to add anything that would be a violation of ATF regs.

gr8jrny
Link Posted: 9/14/2009 4:45:42 PM EST
Dazed and Confused.....