Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 1/18/2015 11:41:04 PM EDT
Hi, I have never built a gun before and am relatively new to the subject. I was hoping to get some advice and help from people with everything i will exactly need. First my plans for the gun is to be very versatile. Meaning i want it to be as accurate as possible and as light as possible. I want to be able to do whatever i want with it. I want it to be feasible for long range shots and to be able to carry for close range combat. I think that is enough explanation for what i exactly want out of the rifle. So far i have decided on a Mega Arms Maten lower/upper and a noveske 18" barrel, and also a geissele National Match Marksman Rifle Trigger. I have been looking at other peoples builds but just looking at their builds doesn't exactly help me know what to get for my personal build. Thanks in advance for all the help guys!
Link Posted: 1/19/2015 11:02:46 AM EDT
[#1]
bump                    .
Link Posted: 1/19/2015 12:06:58 PM EDT
[#2]
Go to your local gun store or range and hold an AR-10.  You will quickly learn that light weight, carry it around, goes out the window.  I would also suggest that you get someone to help you that is local and can walk you through parts buying and assembly.
Link Posted: 1/19/2015 12:14:39 PM EDT
[#3]
Op you have picked some good brands. Be aware when building a. 308 ar that not all parts are compatible. I would suggest checking out the ar variants section.

Also just an FYI, unlike AR15, the name AR10 specifically refers to the armalite 308 product not all 308 Ar pattern rifles are AR10's. Just to avoid confusion when talking about parts etc.
Link Posted: 1/19/2015 12:35:12 PM EDT
[#4]
Well, I don't know where to start with this. An AR10 isn't exactly light, nor is it the best choice for home defense (over penetration could be a problem).