Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/22/2017 12:11:25 AM
Posted: 9/1/2003 12:57:11 PM EDT
I have a Bushmaster M4 Type AR with 16 inch barrel (and carry handle). I want to buy a sighting optic but am really confused with the ones available. I think I would like to mount it to the carry handle. I typically would be concered with close quarters use out to about 200 yards. I have seen Aimpoint M2's , EOtechs etc. used on the carry handle. What would be the best sightfor all around use? Are there any disadvantages to mounting on the carry handle? I seem to be wanting to go the EOTech 552 or the Aimpoint M2 route but am not sure. Any advice?
Link Posted: 9/1/2003 1:18:16 PM EDT
Why do you want to mount to the carry handle? You bought a rifle that has a flattop designed for moutning optics, so you might as well use it. You can mount an EOTech directly to the flattop and it will co-witness with an ARMS #40 backup iron sight. I use this setup with an EOTech 552 on my AR, and I am very happy with it. IMHO the EOTech is THE fastest sight for cqb and the 1 MOA dot allows me to shoot very tight gropus out at 100 yards. I don't have anywhere near me where I can shoot 200 yards, but I feel that the EOTech could handle the job with aplomb. I can e-mail you pics if you are interested in seeing how it looks.
Link Posted: 9/1/2003 1:25:57 PM EDT
Link Posted: 9/1/2003 2:43:57 PM EDT
Here's an EOTech w/ARMS #40. However, it's on a carbine and does NOT have the M4 type handguards. Notice how the EOTech(AA) extends over the handguards. [url="http://www.hunt101.com/?p=57457&c=500&z=1"][img]http://www.hunt101.com/img/057457.gif[/img][/url] Joe
Link Posted: 9/1/2003 6:39:27 PM EDT
Originally Posted By Joe_556: Here's an EOTech w/ARMS #40. However, it's on a carbine and does NOT have the M4 type handguards. Notice how the EOTech(AA) extends over the handguards. Joe
View Quote