Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
Durkin Tactical Franklin Armory
User Panel

Posted: 5/1/2011 2:58:33 AM EDT
Hey there. I'm new to the AR world but I'm waiting to get my 20'' A2 rifle kit soon and plan to make it a good long range gun. I've been researching trying to find what scope I should get but don't know how far I should expect my rifle to reach. I've heard around 900 yards but don't know how true that is. Anyone got some good advice to throw my way?
Link Posted: 5/1/2011 6:27:05 AM EDT
[#1]
A2?  With a carry handle?  You're wasting your time trying to put long range optics on that upper.  Would be perfect for Service Rifle assuming that it has a good barrel and a hidden float tube for the hand guards.  All you would need there is a good rear sight.
Link Posted: 5/1/2011 7:15:30 AM EDT
[#2]
Also, what do you expect it to be good for at long range? Varmints/paper/other (your answer shouldn't include deer)? The M-16 (which has a 20" barrel) is rated by the military as having an effective range of 550 meters. Accuracy is only part of that. The bullet still needs to be able to cause damage once it gets there in order to be considered effective.
If you're just looking to shoot paper, the platform is capable out to 1000 yards with the right parts (barrel being the first thing that comes to mind). Depending on how the rifle is built, you may get anything from .5 MOA (or mabye a bit less) to 2 or 3 MOA accuracy.
I agree with the guy above regarding the A2 configuration. If you're mounting glass, it should be on a flattop (M4 style upper receiver). As far as scopes go, I'm partial to Nightforce. Recommend clarifying your intended use.
Link Posted: 5/1/2011 5:22:51 PM EDT
[#3]