Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 8/11/2004 9:42:31 PM EDT
I have a Bushmaster M4 A3.  I am going to purchase an Aimpoint ML2 for it.  My problem- I HATE cowitnessing the front sight through the scope.

I have already purchased a Yankee Hill 2 piece gas block and flip up front/rear sight combo in anticipation that I will be hacking off the front sight.
secure.valinet.com/~yankeeh/products/YHM-9390.jpg
and
secure.valinet.com/~yankeeh/products/YHM-9584.jpg

Should I
A.  Proceed as planned.  Hack off the front sight and mount the two piece gas block.  Then put the Aimpoint on a low-profile mount.
or
B.  Leave the front sight alone and get a super high rise scope mount for the aimpoint even though I think they look kind of strange.
Link Posted: 8/11/2004 10:06:15 PM EDT
[#1]
Try the high-rise mounts first.  You can return them or use them on another rifle if you still think they're weird.

Chopping the front sight assembly is a process that will be more difficult to reverse.

That's my two cents worth.
~Craig
Link Posted: 8/11/2004 10:07:38 PM EDT
[#2]
Exactly how high do I have to go to completely clear the front sight?
Link Posted: 8/12/2004 12:58:04 AM EDT
[#3]
Why not use a perfect co-witness height mount (common cheek-weld) and the BUIS system is out of the way when not required?

You can also remove the standard FSB without hacking it and keep FSB & taper pins on hand - no distruction required.

<ETA>  IIRC, the original distance above bore for the sight-line is around 1.55/1.57" +/_ some for manufacture and production variations.
Link Posted: 8/12/2004 5:49:29 AM EDT
[#4]
Thanks for the advice.

I bought the LaRue mount with the ML2.  I am going to try and remove the front sight today using that link and mount the gas block and flip up sight.

Wish me luck!!
Link Posted: 8/12/2004 8:16:43 AM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:
Thanks for the advice.