Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 9/28/2004 8:32:58 AM EDT
I want to find a FSB with set screws that can be easily detached if needed. I had a few questions about these, since I have no experience with them.

1. Does anyone aside from Fulton Armory sell them?

2. Where do the set screws attach?

3. Are they as stable and solid as a taper-pinned FSB?

4. Will removing a pinned FSB and replacing it with one that uses set screws cause a problem with the holes in the barrel where the taper pins were?

I should add that I am looking for one with a bayonet lug on it.
Link Posted: 9/28/2004 9:09:02 AM EDT
[#1]
SilverC,

I'm new to ARs, but hope I can provide a little help.  I have a Fulton Armory upper with a set-screw FSB.  What I can tell you is this:

The Fulton models have 4 set screws, in the same place where taper pins would be on a regular FSB.  Mine take a 3/64 allen wrench.  I noticed my sight base was just slightly tilted, so I loosened them to align it.  Started by trying only 2 screws.  Thought I had them loose enough, but FSB wouldn't budge.  Loosened a little more - still wouldn't budge.  I had to loosen all 4 of them to the point where they would spin free, then I could adjust the sight base.  I've since re-tightened them and tested by trying to pull on the FSB.  It will not move at all , so I think they probably hold very tightly.

I'll be shooting the rifle next weekend for a better test, but I really don't expect the FSB to shimmy at all.

Hope this helped a little.

joe l.
Link Posted: 9/28/2004 10:03:35 AM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
1. Does anyone aside from Fulton Armory sell them?

Post-ban Armalite rifles used them standard.  All they really are is a regular FSB with the holes tapped for set screws.

2. Where do the set screws attach?
They attach to the FSB and press against the barrel.

3. Are they as stable and solid as a taper-pinned FSB?