Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Troubleshooting
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/13/2004 8:36:05 PM EDT
I am new to the ARs so any help is appreciated.  Back in Jan. I purchased a Fab10 (yes I life in CA) and a LMT upper.  I finally had a chance to take it to the range last month and broke in the barrel by cleaning after each shot.  After completing 20 rounds I was going to load three shots at a time.  This is when I ran into a problem:

Any more than one round in the mag and the bolt won't "catch" the round to be loaded.  From what I can tell, when you pull the charging handle back, the bolt pushes down on the top round, the round is then not being pushed back up by the mag spring.  The bolt then literaly drags over the top of the round and hangs up.  No problem with just one round but big problem with 2 or more.

I don't know where to start..Is it normal for the bolt to push the rounds down a bit as you pull the charging handle back, if so, are the springs in the mag faulty? Or do I have an issue with the clearance between the mag and bolt??

Sorry if I seem to ramble, trying to give as much info as possible... I would appreciate any input.
Link Posted: 10/13/2004 10:35:31 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 10/13/2004 11:01:09 PM EDT
[#2]
I'm not familiar at all with the FAB-10, but jeah that could be a weak spring problem.

Also, there is NO need to follow the cleaning procedure you are following to break in the barrel.

I would do THIS instead:

http://groups.msn.com/TheMarylandAR15ShootersSite/barrelbreakinpage1.msnw

Link Posted: 10/13/2004 11:05:07 PM EDT
[#3]
Wow, the mag is INTEGRAL to the lower eh?

CAN you even change the mag spring? To me, it looks like the answer is no.

Solution: move to a non communist zone ASAP
Link Posted: 10/14/2004 4:59:32 AM EDT
[#4]