Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/19/2017 7:27:10 PM
Posted: 2/26/2006 11:05:17 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 2/26/2006 11:07:21 AM EDT by TrijiCog]
I searched the archives,but I couldn't find a thread with the problem/question I have.

( Bushy 14.5" M4 profile post ban BBL )

I need to remove the FSB for the FF install,but the taper pins are mushroomed on both sides.I know I am supposed to knock them out from left to right,but both ends of the pins are factory mushroomed.For the life of me,I can't figure out how they were even PUT IN.I am a total amateur when it comes to this stuff,so maybe this factory mushroom effect is common knowledge.

Should I just take it to a gunsmith ? I really want to learn to do these things myself,but I don't want to fuck up a brand new BBL.
Link Posted: 2/26/2006 11:08:21 AM EDT
Taper pins are rounded on both ends. I've never heard of any that were mushroomed to where the ends actually overlap the FSB like a rivet.
Link Posted: 2/26/2006 11:49:10 AM EDT
[Last Edit: 2/26/2006 12:07:13 PM EDT by TrijiCog]
Ya dude,they look like rivets.What do you think ? The bottom pic is blurry,but the pins look exactely the same as the top ones.

ETA: I'm stupid.I can see how they pop out,I looked at my other M4gery...it looks kind of difficult to take them out without fucking the pins up...

I don't think I am ready for this...LOL
Link Posted: 2/26/2006 4:38:17 PM EDT
They could be straight pins also. Just took the FSB off a Bushy and they were straight. I still go left to right for GP. Brownells sells a concave nose punch for starting pins like this. The punch is actually a 3/32 nail set. If your pins are not convex on the left side, someone was beating on them before, probably with a worn out punch. Good tools are critical for good work!