User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/17/2006 2:12:38 PM EDT
i'm planning to buy my first Ar.  Local shop has these 2 guns i'm looking at

Olympic Arms-$799
Double Star-$750
both are M4A3

Which do you think is better.. or are they just askign to much?

other wise, can a better gun be build on a $700 budget?( +50for ffl fees)
i'm new to the scene,
thanks
Link Posted: 10/17/2006 2:26:40 PM EDT
[#1]
Double Star

I'm very happy with mine
Link Posted: 10/17/2006 2:27:11 PM EDT
[#2]
Double Star. Absolutely the best people to work with and the parts are top quality. I have three myself.
If you have any problems they will help you work it out.
Link Posted: 10/17/2006 2:39:25 PM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:
Double Star. Absolutely the best people to work with and the parts are top quality. I have three myself.
If you have any problems they will help you work it out.

home build the double star
Link Posted: 10/17/2006 2:41:53 PM EDT
[#4]
I'll say build your own....get exactly what you want without having to try and sell your "take off" parts that you will eventually upgrade.

Mike

I've put 3 together this year, and have a 4th started.
Link Posted: 10/17/2006 2:53:08 PM EDT
[#5]
height=8
Quoted:
I'll say build your own....get exactly what you want without having to try and sell your "take off" parts that you will eventually upgrade. her

aboout how much did they cost you ?what kinda build?   local gun shop is charging $40 for his ffl use.. so i have to buy wisely
Link Posted: 10/17/2006 4:23:25 PM EDT
[#6]
My latest was done for right at $550

The only new parts are the lower and lower parts kit and Phantom FH. The rest was bought used from the EE.

You could purchase a new Stag upper and lower seperately and save yourself the 11% excise tax.....all you have to do is push the pins in

the other builds are decked out carbines.....around a grand or more into each of those.

Mike
Link Posted: 10/17/2006 5:02:44 PM EDT
[#7]
Double Star very big plus 1