Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
Member Login
Site Notices
9/19/2017 7:27:10 PM
Posted: 8/9/2003 4:05:23 AM EDT
Sometimes I have trouble with my AR. Its a 20" Colt HBAR. I thought it may have been a mag problem but now I'm not sure, and I will add that I'm quite new to AR's here's the problem.
Last couple of times out to the range upon firing the rifle the fired case ejects ok but as the bolt carrier is moving forward its is stopping with about half the length of a loaded round left to be fully closed. The round that it has stripped on the way forward doesn't seem to be jammed in any way because if I tip the rifle forward the round will drop right into the chamber but the bolt still remains half open. I then pull rearward on the charging handle and release and the bolt will close. Last time at the range the rifle did this for about the first 10-15 rounds then it seemed to work itself out somehow and started working ok. Could it be something I'm doing wrong while cleaning and lubing? The rifle has only about 600 rounds total fired through it. Oh and ammo I'm using are reloads. 55 grain fmj with 26 grains of Alliant Reloader 15, or 24.5 grains of Accurate 2230. I'm thinking it may be a lubrication problem? Thanks for your help
Vince.
Link Posted: 8/9/2003 4:23:27 AM EDT
Link Posted: 8/9/2003 4:29:39 AM EDT
A friend had the exact problem with a new Armalite. We could not find anything wrong. Wasn't the gas tube, wasn't the firing pin on the hammer, he had the correct buffer and spring, cycling by hand didn't feel any different from working AR's. It was like there wasn't enough momentum to push the carrier over the hammer. When it stopped he could pull the charging handle back and it would chamber fine. After 2 trips to Armalite they eventually changed the bolt and carrier and now it works great. Let us know what you find.
Link Posted: 8/9/2003 6:50:34 AM EDT